2013 Personal Revelation Revolution

 

Welcome to the 2013 Personal Revelation Revolution!

 

The whole thing started when I read the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin over the holidays. I thought a lot about being happy (and unhappy), about being myself, about evolving as a person, about focus and awareness and about resolutions.

 

(My oldest likes to call them "revolutions" rather than resolutions and I just love that.)

Nevertheless, I did not resolve to do anything for the New Year. I know I have to take better care of myself and lose some weight. I know I have to be more active, bla bla bla...

Welcome to the 2013 Personal Revelation Revolution!

The whole thing started when I read the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin over the holidays. I thought a lot about being happy (and unhappy), about being myself, about evolving as a person, about focus and awareness and about resolutions.

(My daughter likes to call them “revolutions” rather than resolutions and I just love that.)

Nevertheless, I did not resolve to do anything for the New Year. I know I have to take better care of myself and lose some weight. I know I have to be more active, bla bla bla…

- See more at: http://kerstinauer.tumblr.com/post/40042763957/2013-personal-revelation-revolution#sthash.zaafjbOb.dpuf

Welcome to the 2013 Personal Revelation Revolution!

The whole thing started when I read the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin over the holidays. I thought a lot about being happy (and unhappy), about being myself, about evolving as a person, about focus and awareness and about resolutions.

(My daughter likes to call them “revolutions” rather than resolutions and I just love that.)

Nevertheless, I did not resolve to do anything for the New Year. I know I have to take better care of myself and lose some weight. I know I have to be more active, bla bla bla…

- See more at: http://kerstinauer.tumblr.com/post/40042763957/2013-personal-revelation-revolution#sthash.zaafjbOb.dpuf

Most of all I know that if I resolve to anything I will put so much pressure on myself that I'm bound to fail - and I can't have that.

 

I am convinced that 2013 will be a good year. I am working on a great new opportunity in my job, the business I started on the side last year is coming along nicely, my next book is set to be published in February 2013 and the kids are old enough that I see a lot of date nights with my husband in the near future.

 

So, with resolutions being out of the question I tried to come up with a "theme" for this year. Since I enjoyed reading the Happiness Project so much I thought I would try and expand on that and then I came across a book that's been sitting on my bookshelf since 1995.

 

It's called "Simple Abundance, a daybook of comfort and joy" by Sarah Ban Breathnach. I bought it when it first came out and I think I remember reading it, but I could definitely use a refresher. It's a book with 365 essays - one for each day of the year - to help you excavate and cultivate your authentic self. Right up my alley.

 

And out of the joy and desire this book has already brought me the "2013 Personal Revelation Revolution" was born. I am committing to this book. To working through it, learning more about myself and to authentically *be* myself (and if my authentic self agrees that it would be good to shed a few pounds then we'll do that, just sayin').

 

Those little revelations will hopefully all contribute to being *me*.