Playdate Excuses

 

I read a thread on Facebook a while ago about whether it is better to lie or to be honest when declining a play-date invitation. Like when the mother of a kid that your kid can't stand asks if he can come over and you know it's just not going to happen because the other kid is a sociopath in the making.

 

I threw in my two cents and did not really follow the conversation after that, but I think the majority was actually in favour of the little white lie. My opinion was that it's better to tell the truth - in this situation or any other - and I was surprised that so many mothers did not feel the same way...

(Now just for the record - even though I have been told that I'm a tactless and blunt German bitch, I would not use the words "sociopath in the making", but I have declined play-dates with the explanation that my kid does not want to come over and that kids at that age just change friends and explore new people all the time and that I support that)

 

For some reason I kept thinking about this Facebook conversation and because I really want to help all those other mothers out, I came up with a few excellent pro-active untruths to discourage play-dates.

 

1. Before we set a day I feel like I should let you know that we don't wear any clothes around the house. It is an ancient way of connecting with the natural spirit.

 

2. Well I actually won't be at home that day, but little Johnny can come over anyway - I'm sure my neighbor Bob won't mind watching the boys. He just got out of prison and is looking for ways to make a few bucks.

 

3. Yes, Saturday will be great! We have something special planned - is little Johnny alright with drinking fresh chicken blood?

 

4. That sounds like a great idea. I'm glad you don't believe those rumours about my husband. None of it was ever proven anyway.

 

5. I'm glad my son is finally starting to have a social life. Just make sure that little Johnny gets a rabies shot before he comes over.

 

You're welcome.