Kaiserschmarrn

 

Due to my new flexible work schedule I have been stuck cooking way more often than I want to lately. It seems like I do the majority of the cooking during the week and it blows! Cooking is definitely not my thing and to alleviate the pain at least a little bit I have decided to pull out some German comfort food (which my husband doesn't like, so it's sandwiches for him those nights).

 

The type of comfort food I like is sweet and one of my favourites is Kaiserschmarrn. It's actually an Austrian food and I can't even begin to explain what it translates to, just trust me when I tell you it's delicious.

 

It tastes like an incredibly fluffy crepe and it has raisins and you eat it with a compote of Italian plums. This is what it looks like:

 

I know, right?

 

This is how you make it:

 

3 eggs

2 cups of milk

1 teaspoon sugar

1 pinch of salt

12 oz. of flour

1/4 cup of sparkling mineral water

1/2 cup of raisins

3 tablespoons of butter

 

Separate the egg whites and yolks. Mix the yolks, milk, sugar and salt and beat really good with a whisk. Slowly add the flour while beating with the whisk. Add the raisins and sparkling water carefully with a spoon (do not whisk anymore).

 

Beat the egg whites with a mixer until they are stiff. Carefully fold into the batter.

Melt the butter in a large pan and add the mixture. Turn down the heat to medium low and let it cook until the bottom is starting to get crispy brown. (The top will likely still be liquid at that point and the whole thing is really a mess to make, but so worth it)

 

Try to break up and flip the whole thing and chop it into pieces with the spatula. Keep turning it until it's cooked from all sides and there is no liquid batter anymore. (You'll know it when you see it)

 

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve with plum compote or applesauce.

 

Let me know when dinner is served.