2013 Personal Revelation Revolution - February

 

I made it through the second month of my Personal Revelation Revolution!

 

I gave 2013 the theme of learning more about myself and - as Oprah puts it - living my best life. I committed to reading "Simple Abundance" by Sarah Ban Breathnach and pondering a way to live a more authentic life. And even though Sarah's writing is a bit antiquated for my taste, I've been getting some great insights and lots to think about.

 

 

If I had to pick two words for my journey in February, it would be "listen" and "excavate".

Listening to my instincts and finding a common thread in work, life and play. I think a common thread is important to not get overwhelmed and stay grounded. I have a lot of stuff going on in my life (as does everyone else, I'm sure) and I definitely have a tendency to feel burdened and trapped. Listening to my instincts and finding that common thread will help me stay more stable emotionally. By no means do I have this figured out, but I'm making progress!

 

As far as "excavate" goes - digging deep and trying to be authentic (by the way - I found a really good definition of authentic: it means being truthful with yourself. Isn't that a great way to put it?) ties right in with the common thread. You have to find out what really matters to you and makes you happy to discover the common thread!

 

One of my favourite exercises this month for "excavating" was this (from "Simple Abundance"):

Imagine you're moving into a completely empty house. Money is not an issue. What are the first 20 things that come to mind that this house absolutely would have to have (architecture, deco, features....) so you would feel at home and it would be uniquely yours? What do those 20 things mean to you?

 

I don't think many of us are in the position to actually put this little exercise into action (because money probably is an issue) and neither can I, but I am determined to create a space for myself that is completely my own and a reflection of myself. When we get back from our Vegas vacation in April we will make some changes in our house and I will be getting my own room, which will be my office and a space that I can truly call my own! (Stay tuned!)

 

"One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time" Andre Gide