Personal Revelation Revolution 2013 - March. And Vegas

 

After 10 days in Vegas and not writing for my blog I can't even think of a decent opening sentence to this post and I didn't even drink (much)...

 

Anyway - I made it through month 3 of my Personal Revelation Revolution and through our Vegas vacation and I actually learned a few things.

 

For the first few days of the month I stuck with my daily reading of "Simple Abundance" until I decided on March 8 (International Women's Day) that I've had enough. It just got too painful. No, not the working-through-things and revelations, but the writing in that book. I am sure the author is a lovely woman, but her style of writing made me cringe. You know when you read a book and it's pure pleasure and you are excited for every new chapter and the aha-moments just keep coming and you feel like you could totally discuss this with Oprah? Yeah - that book was just not like that for me.

It was time to move on and first I moved on to "Happier at Home" by Gretchen Rubin. I already loved the "Happiness Project" and I was not disappointed by the second book either.

I read about possessions vs. experience and pondered which one makes me happier. I like things simple and as long as I have enough office supplies I really prefer the experience over possessions. However, Rubin writes in her book that simplicity is not about quantity, but about quality - get rid of the stuff you don't engage with and keep the stuff you actually use. While we were in Vegas we spent a lot of money on the experience as opposed to buying stuff and I'm very pleased with the result (and my office supplies are safe, because I engage with those all the time).

 

The best thing I have taken away from reading "Happier at Home" is one of her Secrets of Adulthood - You get more of what you have. So true. When I read this I just knew it is true and profound on so many levels and I really want to keep this little sentence in the back of my head. It's almost like an Oprah moment.

Talking about Oprah - I watched Super Soul Sunday with Brene Brown about her book Daring Greatly and that was the next book I started reading (I'm about halfway through now). I can tell you that there are a lot of lessons that hit home for me and I will write more about it for the April PRR 2013 round-up.


If you read my last ippp post two weeks ago you know I was starting a self portrait project for the duration of our Vegas trip. I did some duckfaces and some other selfies and I'm pretty happy with the outcome. It was fun and liberating! 

Duckface goes to the strip
Duckface goes to the strip
Duckfaces at the Hoover Dam
Duckfaces at the Hoover Dam
Duckface and bugs at the Springs Preserve
Duckface and bugs at the Springs Preserve

 

Waiting at Target while my kids are up to mischief. They said they just needed a few scenes for their Vegas video. I will probably get banned if I show up at that Target again...

 

That's all, folks!