Personal Revelation Revolution 2013 - April Round-Up. And Home Office.

 

I went offline for three weeks and got a lot of shit done! Well, I kinda went offline - since a lot of the work I do includes managing Social Media for clients I was there, but not really. Doesn't make sense? That's fine - let's move on.

 

I read a fabulous book this month - Brene Brown's "Daring Greatly".

The book begins with Roosevelt's quote - which explains the title, sets the tone for the book and summarizes it in a few words.

 

Show up and let yourself be seen. Dare to be uncomfortable and deal with it. Act with honesty and integrity and choose respect and accountability over "fast & easy". Engage rather than disengage and act like the adult you want your children grow up to be. Distinguish shame from guilt and be all in.

The book talks about everyday life, leadership and parenting and I just could not put it down.

My favourite take-away from "parenting" : let the first look your kids see on you every time they walk into the room be one that lights up your face, like you are happy to see them (rather than the "pull up your pants" or "wash your hands" look). Wow.

 

In other news, we (and by that I mean 95% my husband) tackled a major reno in our house. We changed the laundry room, built a hallway and walk-in closet in the basement, moved our bedroom into the basement, painted our old bedroom and moved our son into that, painted his old room and made that my office, my mom-cave.

 

Sounds exhausting? It sure was. I don't even know how my husband did all that. Maybe it's because I'm so ridiculously good at delegating and keeping the big picture in mind - just sayin'.

 

And now? Onward and upward into May with renewed spirit, a new office and tons of ideas.