Thoughts on glasses, family and shame

 

First things first - how do you like my new glasses?

 

Just kidding! Those are the ones:

 

It's the first time in about 6 years that I have glasses with actual frames and not just the lenses on the bottom (OMG, does that even make sense? I just realized I'm missing the proper English optometry vocabulary). I may have been walking around like I was drunk a little bit today, getting used to the new glasses (damn, I should have had a drink and made it worthwhile).

 

 

Thoughts on family:

tomorrow - May 22nd - is our 13th wedding anniversary. It's also my husband's 43rd birthday and even though I conveniently suggested to have our wedding on his birthday I usually forget one of the two...

 

I am determined to not forget this time, but I'm not making any promises.

The last 13 years had their ups and downs and I have mentally packed my suitcases and moved out more than once (as I'm sure he has as well). As mad as I can get - I know that I want to spend the rest of my life with him. He's funny, loving, sexy, a total stud, smart, passionate and he really takes good care of me. So happy anniversary, Roland - I love you (and no, we're not getting a dog).

 

(This is my favourite picture of us - it was taken at a Christmas Party three years ago. I will have to find a new favourite now, because new glasses, ya know?!)

 

Thoughts on shame:

I just finished reading Brene Brown's book "I thought it was just me" - a book about shame and how to become more resilient to it. A great read! I will talk a bit more about it in my Personal Revelation Revolution May Round-Up next week, but I want to tell you that this book had quite a few aha-moments for me (no wonder Oprah calls Brene Brown her soul sister).

 

The difference between shame and guilt (shame = I am bad; guilt = I did something wrong and will fix it) as well as blame and accountability (blame = it's my fault because I am bad; accountability = I screwed this up and will be responsible for it) seems so straightforward and easy, but so hard to distinguish in everyday life. Digging deep and recognizing where our shame comes from and moving towards an atmosphere of growth through setting goals is so powerful - I may have used my Oprah voice for a minute or two when I realized that.