The Rebel Life

 

I had the word "rebel" shaved into the back of my head when I was younger.

 

Like a lot younger, that was 19 years ago, but who's counting...

Anyway, Alison asked if I had a picture of it and unfortunately I don't but I have pictures of that time in my life and a story to go with it.

 

It was 1994, I was a sophomore at the University of Colorado in Boulder and had just divorced my first husband. Naturally, I needed a place to stay and after my best friend Renae graciously let me stay in her walk-in closet for a few months, I just knew I had to get my own place.

I had not only left my husband, but also quit my job, so the walk-in closet was just fine for a while; after the initial shock I sucked it up and got two jobs - one in the college bakery and one in the college laundry place. On the days I did not have classes I worked the bakery shift in the morning and the laundry shift in the afternoon. While I still love to bake, I am convinced that my hatred for ironing comes from that job...

 

Once I started looking I knew that I needed to get a roommate and a place close to the university. When I came across an ad in the college paper that advertised a bedroom in a 2-bedroom apartment, with a shared kitchen, living room and bathroom for $ 287.50 per month I just knew I needed to call. I mean really, who advertises a place for $ 287.50 per month?

 

I called, looked at the place, instantly fell in love with it and moved in. My roommate was a pretty hot piece of ass named Chris. He definitely was eye-candy and had this habit of walking around the house naked. No complaints here, I'm a liberal German who's used to all kinds of naked, so we hit it off right away. While we never got involved romantically, we were a roommate match made in heaven. He was an Italian from New York and loved to cook. I mean - hello? - what more could I have wanted?

 

 

This picture was taken by a friend who came and visited me from Germany that summer. Good times, good times. And he usually wore pants while she was there...

 

He was a potter and went to grad school and just enjoyed his life. When we did not hang out together he would usually bring home a different girl every night - in his own words: "This is the best fucking summer ever - I've been getting more ass than a toilet seat." How could you not love that?

 

So - inspired by his joy for life, pissed off at my ex-husband, living the college life and the desire to just let my hair down I decided to just get a buzz cut and my hair-guy Travis suggested "rebel"... Boom. It was that simple.

 

Best. Summer. Ever.

 

So tell me - what is your best "wild" summer memory? I'd love to hear from you!

 

The end (wait, one more picture of hot Chris, in front of "our" house)