Summertime

 

We're a little more than halfway through summer vacation (4 weeks and 13 hours left to go, but who's counting?) and I thought it would be a good idea to revisit my summer bucket list and reflect on how the summer has gone so far.

 

 

Make it count and participate - in that spirit it all of a sudden (after years of insisting on the opposite) seemed like a good idea to get a family dog. Of course we needed an allergy friendly dog, because both my son and I are allergic - and I should have known better. I should have researched and looked before I said anything, because what followed my announcement were 4 days from hell. Every waking minute I heard "When are we getting the dog? What if there is no allergy friendly dog available right. this. minute. How much longer before we'll have the dog?"

 

I can only assume that I did something right somewhere along the way in my life, because Karma was on my side. The local animal rescue had a 4 months old Maltipoo-Blue Heeler mix and we adopted him on the spot.

 

According to my daughter even Chuck Norris would think he's cute.

So - this is Jacob. And just like a new baby, a new dog does not fix existing problems in the family. Siblings still argue and sometimes act like entitled jerks. Parents still lose their everloving shit and also act like jerks. Everything just with dog now. I do have to admit though, that he is a nice addition to our family and as soon as I get over my self-pity I'll be just as happy as everyone else.

 

It's really my own anxieties and issues that make me feels like I lost part of my fought-for freedom. I'll be fine as soon as I learn to let go of the need to control and just let the kids and my husband deal with the dog (and the responsibility for the dog) equally.

 

What else is going on?

 

I am more than halfway through my bucket list (I've read Lady Jennie's memoir (couldn't stop), learned to use Evernote (so awesome), knitted lots (love it!) and took a nap every day. OMG naps - are they ever long enough?)


 

The rest of my bucket list may get done or not - and I'm fine with that.

 

I don't really need to learn how to use the BBQ, my husband has that under control. I did open the picture box to start organizing it, but it is so nicely contained in that box... ya know? The last thing on my list was a little fishing outing with my husband sans kids and that may or may not be turned into another date of some sort. I think blizzards at DQ would totally count!

 

Alright, that's just about all I can think of. Oh, yeah - I also listened to Season 1 and 2 of The Walking Dead. Yes, I said "listened". We were probably the last people on the planet to get Netflix and my husband wanted to watch The Walking Dead before the new season starts. I can't watch anything scary, especially not if zombies are involved, so I knitted and listened. Hence all the knitting...

 

Also: this one turned 16!

 

How is your summer going?