Countdown

 

Just in case you didn't know - I quit my job and will be working for myself as of September 1 (I know, right?).

 

Obviously this calls for a series of celebrations and I started this weekend with an iced chocolate, or Eisschokolade as we call it in Germany.

 

It's chocolate milk with lots of vanilla ice cream in it and whipped cream on top (like the real stuff, not cool whip). As I was enjoying it, it occurred to me that this must be what happiness tastes like.

 

Chocolate-milk-covered vanilla ice cream, topped with whipped cream, which starts hardening just a bit where is touches the ice cream. A little morsel of all those elements in your mouth - I'm not gonna say it's better than sex, because it isn't - but it's pretty damn close.

 

I also decided to do another self portrait project - a Countdown to Freelance. I started with this picture:

 

And the best part? After my last day at work we're going away for the long weekend - to the incredible Echo Valley Ranch & Spa, one of my freelance clients (I know, right?).

 

There are so many things to be excited about right now and to be grateful for. Everyone is healthy (except for the little owies that come with age - I tell you, 41 can be a bitch), school is starting again soon (fuck, yeah), I get to work for myself (did I mention that yet?) and we have a great new addition to our family - our dog Jacob (did I mention that he may be the reincarnation of my husband while he's still alive? They assume the same position on the couch).

 

I'm feeling all the feelings and emotions and usually I would just try and get it together and not be so excited. I used to believe that it's better to stay in the "meh-zone". Don't get too excited about anything, because bad times are sure to follow and then you won't be so disappointed.

 

My friends - the thing is that if you never let yourself feel the whole range of emotions, then you don't live your life to the fullest. I learned that from a very smart woman - Brene Brown -  whose books I read a while ago and I realized that's what I have been doing for a long time; I have not lived my life to the fullest and I have not allowed my full potential to rise to the surface.

 

So I'mma go out and get me some - life, love, joy, laughter, tears, rage - the whole friggin' nine yards. There will be ups and there will be downs - and it's gonna be alright.