Fancy Friendship

 

"I went to a Fire Department event last night and the speaker was just amazing. Her name is Heidi Cave."

 

That's how I first heard about Heidi several years ago, when my friend Shelley told me about the speech she had given. Shelley was so in awe and inspired by this woman that I just had to go and check her out myself.

 

I found her blog and started reading, followed her on Twitter and eventually friended her on Facebook. Heidi is the kind of writer whose writing makes your heart beat just a little faster; you move just a little closer to the computer screen and you lean in and drink up every word.

Yes, she has an amazing story of survival and challenge, but she is so much more than that. She is a mother, a wife, a writer, a speaker and just about one of the nicest people you'll meet.

 

I know that because I met her.

She doesn't live very far away from me, but for some reason it took us until last Saturday to finally meet. Her debut book, Fancy Feet, was published just a little while ago and she came to a book signing in Kamloops, about 45 min. from Merritt.

 

We met for brunch before the book signing. For me it was the first time I ever met someone I had only known online before. It's a bit of a strange feeling - you feel like you've known the other person for years (which you have, just online), but of course you don't want to seem like a total freak for acting like you're too familiar (oh, that's just me? Alright then, whatever).

 

We talked lots. About kids, family and writing. It was so great to be able to talk to someone who knows what it feels like to have the need to write. Someone who knows what it's like to wonder whether other people love or hate your blog and who knows what it's like to hesitate when you want to hit that publish button and tweet this or post that. Of course we also had to talk about who we love on Facebook and Twitter (let's just say we both have excellent taste); so all in all - there was lots of talking.

 

After the brunch we went to Heidi's book signing and I picked up two more copies of her book - one for each of my kids, who love the book just as much as I did.

It was a great day and I drove back home with so much motivation and inspiration in my heart. I wish bloggers and writers would generally support and encourage each other more, instead of tearing each other down.

 

You haven't read Heidi's book yet? Get on it!