A virus, the orthodontist & a doggy door

 

After months of telling you how awesome it is to be a freelancer and how I'm living the dream and loving every minute of it I finally had a stressful day.

Thank god, I was getting sick of all that positivity! It almost seemed like our immigration to Canada all over again - people back home kept asking for years if anything went wrong yet and it seems like they were disappointed that it didn't. Thank god my husband hurt himself at work after three years here and people at home were finally able to say "I told you so". Phew.

on the way to Kamloops, driving past Nicola Lake
on the way to Kamloops, driving past Nicola Lake

It started innocent enough with me doing some of my daily blog reading - on my freshly installed Google Chrome browser. So far so good. 

 

I left a comment on one of the blogs I regularly read and was redirected to a new page when I hit "comment", urging me to update my Java. Yes, I tell my kids all the time to never just install something or click OK and I don't even know what I was thinking, but I hit OK on the first window that came up and right after I did I knew something was wrong.

But alas, it was too late. Long story short - I caught the Conduit Virus, which is actually not a virus but malware, designed to hijack your computer.

 

Of course I had to leave to take my oldest to an ortho appointment, so I didn't have much time - but there was enough time to realize that I could not fix this myself. That thing had embedded itself so deep into the registry of my computer that I knew I needed professional help.

 

But first I had to take my son to get professional help - with his braces. I don't know about you, but when I know something is wrong with my computer I just obsess about it. 

 

Having to put this computer issue off for 5 hours until I was back home was pretty much killing me. And all he cared about was getting red and green rubber thingies for his braces, because Christmas. Sheesh.


 

As I was sitting at the ortho's office, waiting for my son and stressing about my computer, my other son called. He forgot his house keys and I had locked the door. 

 

Just as I felt my blood pressure rise he told me that he had brought a friend home with him and that friend was short and skinny enough to fit through the doggy door. There really was nothing else to do but to laugh out loud. 

 

Things went uphill from there. My oldest entertained me on the way home...

... and by the time Merritt came back into sight I had calmed back down enough to take care of that virus like a boss - by calling the AVG TechBuddy line and letting them fix it.

So - computer is working again and I'm back to living the dream - still enjoying every minute of it (sorry :) )

 

How have you been? I want to know!