What to write about... and diet.

 

I found and re-pinned this pin a little while ago; earlier this afternoon I felt really ambitious, so I followed the link and printed one of the monthly blog planners. Believe it or not, within 10 minutes I had my blogging plan set for the whole month - except for this very post...

 

What to write about, what to write about? 

 

Me: "Marius, what do you think I should blog about today?"

 

Marius: "Well, I just wrote a post about age restrictions on Facebook and I think your blog could use a few more opinion posts" (?!? WTF... moving on...)

 

Me: "PJ, what do you think I should blog about today?"

 

PJ: "Oh, you should totally blog about my new piercing or my new shoes or just about me in general." (Sigh)

 

Me: "Roland, what do you think... um - never mind" (that was probably a smart decision)

 

PJ: "Oh, I thought of something else - why don't you write about how you went on a diet a few days ago and failed?

 

(Note to self: do not ask family what to write about anymore.)

 

I actually did go on a diet, or more accurate a 5 Day Fast Forward four days ago. I read about it on my friend Alison's blog and it seemed very doable. Not easy, but doable. I like all the foods that are allowed during the five days and I definitely need to do something about my weight. 

 

While I'm not the heaviest I have been, I certainly feel the unhealthiest. My right hip is killing me, my joints hurt and hot sex is more a work-out than anything else. I know, right? Time to do something about it.

 

While I know that it takes time to safely lose weight, I also know that I need to see some results pronto, otherwise I get discouraged. The 5 Day Fast Forward seemed like a good way to see results while "resetting" my body (probably more my mind) from craving salt/sugar/fat so much; the plan after the five days was to go to a low fat/salt/sugar diet of "real food", cut out all the processed crap and drink more water. Like way more water.

 

Sounds pretty good, right? It was in the beginning. About halfway through day three I got a heartburn that just about did me in. It would just not go away, no matter what type of meds I tried. It got worse with every meal and after a sleepless night I decided to cut the 5 Day Fast Forward to a 3 Day Fast Forward and switch to my extended plan two days sooner.

 

So - that's where I'm at right now. Eating real food, peeing all.the.time (because OMG 8 glasses of water) and putting my elliptical to use. I don't feel like I've failed - thankyouverymuchPauline - but like I got a good start. I lost about 5 pounds in those three days and I'mma keep going until hot sex doesn't equal impending stroke/heart attack anymore.

 

Do you feel healthy? What works for you? I'd love to hear about it!