Christmas trees past and present

When we spent our first Christmas in Canada in 2008, I was amazed that people were allowed to go out into the forest and cut their own Christmas tree.

My sister and I actually did cut our own tree once in Germany, but it was totally illegal and someone who cut down a tree in the same spot we did got caught a few hours later. We had a blast though and ended up getting a little carried away; we came home with a 12' tree and had to cut off 4' to make it fit into the house... I blame my pregnancy hormones (I was pregnant with PJ at the time)!

When the time came to (legally) cut the tree for our first Canadian Christmas, the thrill was not quite there, so I just sent my husband to get the job done. This is what he came home with:

 

 

At the time I thought it was rather pathetic, but now I have very fond memories of our first Canadian Christmas and I think the tree was perfect. The next two years I bought a tree at the grocery store and they were perfect spruce trees, too perfect to even take a picture (I seriously don't have a single picture of Christmas 2009 and 2010).

 

In 2011, I was inspired by a friend's tree and once again sent my husband into the forest, this time to get a birch. I think that was one of my favourite trees; unfortunately the picture does not do it justice, but believe me when I tell you it was just fabulous.

 

 

Then last year, I saw a white artificial tree at Walmart, pre-lit with multi-coloured lights; we made the switch and I'm pretty happy about it. I love this cheap little tree and I only put glass ornaments on it (and nobody else gets to decorate it, because that's exclusively my thing to do) and it's our Christmas tree for the second year in a row (P.S. - the picture on the left is my son at his first rodeo in 2008).

 

 

Now tell me about your Christmas trees!