Date Night

 

My husband and I went on our first date in over two years last week.

 

How old are our kids, you ask? Why, they are 12 and 16 years old.

Could we not have date nights all the time, because we don't need a babysitter anymore? Why yes, but TV, laziness, internet, ... I think you get the point.

 

As a matter of fact, we didn't NEED that date last week either - until we went and realized that we really did.

 

pre-date selfie!
pre-date selfie!

 

You see, my former in-laws (my daughter's father's parents) send Christmas presents for the kids every year, and this year they sent $50 for Roland and I to "go out on a date and fall in love".  It's like they knew we needed to go on a date.

My former in-laws are pretty much the nicest people ever and while I haven't been married to their son in over 15 years, there is no doubt in my mind that they are my family and I know the feeling is mutual, which makes me very happy.


Obviously the $50 were a sign, so Roland and I got our asses off the couch, I put on a bra with an intact underwire and off we went on our date. We had a nice dinner and then went to Dairy Queen to sit by the electric fireplace and have a Blizzard (oh yes, we KNOW how to do romance!). 

 

We've been married for almost 14 years and for most of that time the kids' needs (and wants...) took priority over dates and alone-time. It's funny, because I always preach that one should take care of himself/herself first, before making sure everyone else has what they need. You know, like when the cabin pressure in the plane drops and you're supposed to put on your own oxygen mask first before putting one on other people - because if you're passed out you can't help anyone anymore.

It's actually not really funny, but true. 

 

My husband takes care of me and the relationship with him is what I need to be well. While I might have neglected to make it a priority in the last 14 years (ahem), I know it's not too late to start doing so right now. 2014 is my year of experiences, and I want most of those experiences to be with him.