My Secret SuperPowers

 

You know those things you do that drive yourself or others crazy? Things we call annoying or even exhausting? What if we actually looked at those things as our secret superpowers? I think that's an excellent idea (and I'm not just saying that because my list might be rather long); I'll share a few of mine with you and then you tell me about yours, mkay?

 

Hi, my name is Kerstin, I'm 42 years old and I shamelessly overuse emoticons ;)

Some days I creep myself out and vow not to use them anymore. Then I type a status update on Facebook and just before I hit "post" I hesitate - because there is something missing.

What if people don't know whether I'm serious or not? What if they have no idea which emotion I'm trying to convey?!? Obviously that would be unacceptable, so I add an emoticon to clarify. 

 

Now that I think about it, I don't even do this for myself - I do this only for others, so they don't have to guess! Basically, I'm selflessly wearing my heart on my sleeve to make lives easier.

If that's not a superpower, then I don't know what is.

 

P.S. - I love the Bitstrips app!)
P.S. - I love the Bitstrips app!)

 

Another power I have is what I call the Sharpie Power. To this day I have not managed to write or draw anything with a Sharpie without getting its ink all over my hands. It's like my hands are a Sharpie magnet. 

Do I admit defeat and hang my head in shame because my motor skills are not up to par? Oh no, because being a Sharpie magnet is actually a superpower. Have you ever needed a Sharpie and could not find it? I don't have that problem, the Sharpie finds me. And of course I can find it for you as well, because that's how I roll.

 

Finally, I want to share my contribution to scientific research with you. 

I think it's time someone invented a clear toothpaste, and until it's available for sale I am dedicated to staining my shirts with toothpaste every. single. day.

Scientists are working on this important research right now, I'm sure, and for those that have been given the (equally important) task of finding out which conventional toothpaste leaves the nastiest stains: call me, I can help you with this.

 

To summarize: I am a making-lives-easier-finding-sharpies-and-enabling-scientific-breakthroughs superhero.

 

How about you?