Wasting Time

 

I woke up this morning at 6 am, and for once everyone - including the dog - was still sleeping. I got up, stretched and went into the bathroom. I sat down on the side of the bathtub, wondered for a minute what I should do with those precious minutes and decided on cutting my fingernails. 

 

While I was cutting and filing away I realized that I was actually pleased with myself for doing something useful and not wasting time. Wait, what????

 

Hi! My name is Kerstin and I obsess about wasting time. It's exhausting, really. Probably not healthy either. I constantly have this feeling that I should be doing something useful with my time. Tired after a full day of writing copy, meetings and translating websites for clients? Surely there is something more useful to do than sitting on the couch and watching reruns of Fast & Loud. That's right - I haven't dusted the basement in at least a week and I still need to wallpaper the ceiling in the hallway...

 

As I was sitting in the bathroom this morning, doing my nails and pondering my relationship with time I realized this: I *am* wasting time - because I don't honour it enough to slow down at least sometimes and enjoy it. I am wasting precious minutes, because I don't take the time to just be.

 

 

So - since I'm all about experiencing new things in 2014, I've decided to waste some time. 

 

I will take the time to watch those Fast & Loud reruns with my husband and maybe even Restaurant Impossible while I'm at it. I will take the time to just put my feet up for a minute and throw a ball for the dog. I will take the time to sit down with my kids when they have breakfast before school. I will take the time to read the new Oprah Magazine when it comes in the mail. 

And I will always take the time to watch my husband do the dishes... 

 

I call this the Social Media Face. He always does that when I want to take his picture for IG or FB. #socialmediafirstworldproblems
I call this the Social Media Face. He always does that when I want to take his picture for IG or FB. #socialmediafirstworldproblems

 

Most of all, I will take more time *being* and not just *doing*, because that would be a waste of time, right?