On the Radio

 

Two years ago I wrote a story about someone who had passed away and who was very dear to my family, especially to my son Marius. His name was Steve Carroll and he was the librarian at my son's elementary school. 

Steve was an extraordinary man and teacher, a huge presence in our community and a positive force in the lives of many kids. I chose to write about him because he brought so much joy to our lives and enriched it in so many ways, that I wanted to pay tribute to him and also preserve his memory.

 

Back then, one of his friends from Nova Scotia read the piece and encouraged me to send it to CBC's The Vinyl Cafe, hosted by Stuart McLean. I have to be honest - I had no idea who Stuart Mc Lean was, but I found out that people send stories to him and he reads a few of them on air. I submitted my story, because I think that everyone should know what a great guy Steve was.

 

Fast forward two years. Last Saturday I received an email from Stuart's producer Louise, telling me that Stuart was reading the story during The Vinyl Cafe Story Exchange.

 

And here it is, not the best sound quality, but I'm very happy about it.

 

We miss you Steve - you are not forgotten.

 

(picture from Steve's Celebration of Life pamphlet)