42.5

I've had a lot of random thoughts going through my head lately and not been able to quite tie them together. While I don't think there is a grand theme that does tie it all together, I do believe that it's my mind's way of telling me to slow down and focus.

 

It's my half-birthday tomorrow (and that's another ramdon thing I've been thinking about - but really, what the heck is a half-birthday anyway? I don't even know why I'm using that word.) and in the 6 months since my 42nd birthday I've experienced many things, so it might just be time for a little break.

 

You see, I am very disciplined. When I commit myself to something I stick to it. It causes me anxiety if I don't. Like my blogging schedule. I committed myself to blogging twice a week - mostly as a writing practise and to share a part of my life with you. 

 

Since I quit my job and became a freelance writer, I started writing so much on a professional basis, that the words have not exactly been flowing for Auer Life. I feel like I want to spend more time reading other blogs than writing on my own blog for now. And that's alright, right?

 

More so than ever, I want this blog to be a place that I love coming to, not that I have to come to. I want to share my truth here and I want it to be a bit of a refuge to come to and relax. So - I am abandoning my posting schedule and even though being scheduleless makes me somewhat anxious as well, I am thowing out my editorial calendar and I'm allowing myself to just let creativity take over, whenever it chooses to. I just need this to balance out my packed freelancing schedule, I need this little oasis of schedulelessness for my sanity and for my creativity.

 

I feel better already.

 

P.S. - Jacob says hi!