Experience2014 - May Round-Up

 

It's been a few weeks since my last blog post and I'm feeling equally shaky, excited and almost a little giddy. That could be all the caffeine I had today, but I'm attributing it to writing for sure.

It's not that I haven't written in weeks - I write every day, for my clients. And I'm loving it - even the times when I write about cleaning and restoration and exciting stuff like mold removal - but my blog and I, we have history, ya know?

 

Anyway - I digress. I came back here today to tell you about all the new things I experienced in May. 2014 is my year of new experiences, remember? 

 

Here's what happened:

 

 

I joined Rotary a few months ago and the first big event I got to be a part of was the annual Crab Fest. 

And guess what? They decided to put me in charge of the kitchen - LOL. Really, kitchens and I don't mix too well, but since I'm generally good at bossing people around, I thought it might work out after all.

And it did. It was crazy, but a great evening. It felt good to work with my fellow Rotarians and there were a few moments when I thought that I might actually enjoy being in a kitchen and try it more often, but as it turns out that was just the dehydration talking.

I'm fine now.

 


Next came something really cool - I've been married for 14 years! To the same husband! I'm impressed myself, if I may say so. 

We have had our ups and downs for sure, but we're just right for each other. Right to drive each other crazy - in the good way and the bad way - right to keep each other in line and right for our kids.

 

I don't take this lightly, Roland is my third husband (and I am wife #3 for him) - we've both been around the block a few times and have finally arrived.

 

LOVE YOU, BABE - you are my inspiration, and not just for funny blog posts!


 

I also completed revisions for the second edition of one of my books. The Canada West travel guide I co-wrote two years ago sold out and a second edition is planned for the summer. Woot!

 

Finally - and I am doing this as I write - I wrote my first blog post while sitting in a café, pretending to be a writer :)

I have never written at Starbucks or any other coffee shop, because I have my own office at home and have lots of time while the kids are in school.

 

While I feel a little self-conscious about it, I'm also loving it. I love the atmosphere at Brambles and the rhubarb pie... let's not even go there (actually, you should go there if you live anywhere near Merritt, because it is so good!).

 

I might have to pretend to be a writer more often.


 

Alright - gotta run and bring home a slice of that rhubarb pie to my son, so he will quit calling my cell phone... 

 

Now I want to know - what's new and exciting with you this month?