2008

When I read my friend Alison's latest blog post this morning, she asked me a question. While there is a remote possibility that she didn't just ask me, but everyone who read her blog - I'd like to think that she really wants to know what I did in 2008 - so here we go:

 

2008 was our first year in Canada - and this is what we did in June 2008.

 

After getting settled in during the first few months, we started expanding our circles in June - and we started by going to our first rodeo. It was the Little Britches Rodeo, and kids - I'm thinking between the age of 8 and 12 - were racing around barrels, roping calves and doing other things that pretty much left us with our mouths hanging open. Obvioulsy we were totally living the Canadian dream, cowboy hats and all.

 

 

Since I am organized in a very efficient, German manner, I have all my pictures from the last 6 years on an external hard drive, filed by years and months - so June 2008 revealed a few other gems I'd almost forgotten about, like PJ's first bigger science project in elementary school. I have no idea why that project was built in a Budweiser flat. Ahem.

 

 

Next came the school's talent show at the end of the school year - where both my new-to-Canada kids went up on stage and performed a skit (Marius was in Grade 1 and PJ in Grade 4) and I do remember it!

They pretended to sit around a camp fire and one of them hears a bear coming and after a bit back and forth each of them knows what he/she has to do to be saved from the bear: outrun the other... 

 

 

Finally, at the end of the month, we discovered one of our all-time favourite spots: Kentucky Lake Provincial Park. I distinctly remember seeing that deep blue lake for the first time - and with it came a feeling of belonging, being home. And now, 6 years later, that has not changed.

 


 

Now that you know what I did in June 2008, I want to know: what were you up to back then?