5 Things I'm giving up this Summer

We're on our second week of premature summer vacation (due to the BC teacher strike), and with this sudden, unexpected (read: kind of expected, but completely ignored) onset of summer, I haven't even had time to make a plan yet. A summer plan. Because I need a plan for everything. 

 

Last year I made a summer bucket list, which was semi-successful-ish, but just the task of making a list of things I want to accomplish this summer seems overwhelming. 

 

What to do? Well, I did come up with a plan... I am making a list of things I'm definitely not doing this summer - here we go:

 

1. I give up making my bed. Very liberating. I think making beds is overrated anyway. I might change the sheets at some point during the summer, but making my bed is history!

 

 

2. I give up cooking. Who needs a warm meal during the summer when it's hot outside anyway? I don't see what's wrong with sandwiches and cereal - I think sandwiches and cereal are underrated. *my husband might not be completely be on board with this yet, but I am working on it*

 

3. I give up wearing a watch on the weekends. I can't be "on the clock" all the time, so during the weekends, the watch comes off. When I wake up from my nap and look out of my office window, I know it's about 2pm when the sun is on the left, that's all I need to know. I shall be timeless on the weekends!

 

 

4. I give up pants. When I'm at home. Just as liberating as not making my bed. Even though we do have an air-conditioned house, not wearing pants is awesome - so don't stop by my house if you don't want to see me pantsless. I shall wear pants in public, however. 

 

5. I give up keeping up. While I know that I need to be on top of things for my clients even in the summer, I've decided to cut myself some slack with my personal staying-on-top-of-things allthetime. That includes, but is not limited to: laundry, cleaning my house allthetime, updating my personal Facebook profile, sticking to my strict exercise plan.... It's all about doing liberating things this summer, baby!

 

That's all I could think of - but I want to know: what are your summer plans?