Wildfire

 

It's been a few really hot weeks here in the BC Interior and once the temperature rises above 30°C for an extended period of time, you can bet your ass there will be forest fires. Apart from the fires started by dipshits due to carelessness or not putting out campfires properly, there are also always fires caused by lightning.

 

One of those fires is the Maka-Murray wildfire, currently at 400 ha size, about 35-40 km south of our hometown of Merritt. 

 

Why am I telling you about this?

 

Because I kinda had an epiphany due to this fire...

 

You see, we had a pretty bad forest fire season in 2010, when the Brookmere fire came rather close to Merritt. It burned for several weeks, the air quality was incredibly bad at that time and every morning our car would be covered in ashes (!). Even though the fire was closer than the Maka-Murray, there was no immediate threat to Merritt or our house - yet I was paralized.

 

I distinctly remember being panicked for weeks, being scared and constantly on edge. About something that I had no way of influencing in any way whatsoever.

 

Fast forward four years.

 

The other day my husband and I took the dog for a walk as the sun was setting. The smoke from the wildfire had turned it orange-red, so we knew there was a pretty good-sized fire in the area.

 

 

My husband went online and found out where the fire was and told me that "some people" were worried about it. 

 

Four years ago just hearing that would have sent me into panic mode, but this time - much to the astonishment of my husband - I stayed completely calm.

 

As of right now, the fire is 0% contained, and I am still calm. 

 

I am not worried. Whatever happens will happen and we'll deal with it. There is nothing I can do about this fire and while I know that nature can be a fickle bitch, I don't think this fire is a threat to us. 

 

I have to admit, I'm a little surprised by this myself - but it seems that I'm finally practising what I've been preaching for years...

 

 

So - here's what I know for sure on this hot July evening:

 

I will not worry or panic about things I cannot change. 

 

I know I can deal with whatever life throws my way.

 

My iPhone 5C takes some damn good pictures.

 

Now I want to know - how have you been? Any new and exciting epiphanies in your life?