Experience2014 - October Round-Up

Judge Judy, surgery and another entrepreneur in the family - that kinda sums up how October went for us. Big things happened this month!


In anticipation of his knee surgery at the middle of October, my husband had to stop working at the beginning of the month - the pain was just getting too much and he didn't want to risk an infection that could have postponed the surgery. Anyway - it was the best of times, it was the worst of times....


The best of times because we actually got a pretty relaxed routine going. Nobody had to get up in the morning (yay home-schooling! yay freelancing!), so we just found our own rhythm for our days. In fact, our dog thought that it would be best to sync with his rhythm, so I mostly got up at 6 am anyway... I got up with him so he could go and lie down on the couch in my office and sleep another hour - but at least I got to take a few pictures for you:





I know, right? But it wasn't like that every day - some days he would go and lie down in the living room to sleep another hour, while I was the only one awake in the house...




The worst of times because Judge Judy. And Judge Mathis. And The Hot Bench (really, it's a thing.). Because my husband has moved on from Maury and Steve Wilkos. And if one (me) is working from home and one (him) has nothing to do all day, then I guess "studying for the bar exam" (he he) is one option.


Luckily I didn't end up committing a crime over this and we all spent Thanksgiving at Echo Valley Ranch. The kids came, and so did the girlfriend. We planted a tree, ate delicious food and a good time was had by all! I guess a vacation including Pauline's "plus one" was definitely a new experience as well.




Right after Thanksgiving came the surgery and that was definitely another new experience for us. First time in a hospital in Canada! We were very impressed with the hospital (which was a three hour drive from where we live, in Delta BC) and everything went very smooth. 

I was especially impressed with this (the night before, not at the hospital... hello Bellini! Hello Martini!):




The surgery went very well and the rest of the month was spent with Judge Judy et al. - Roland should be ready for his bar exam any day now.... But just as I was mentally preparing for his career change to practise TV law, there was a new development:


He is joining me in the entrepreneurial ranks - but he's sticking with what he knows best: plumbing. Starting at the middle of November, he will open up his own business - Merritt Plumbing Services - and we are now elbows deep in preparations. Thankfully not elbows deep in shit. I will let him have all that. Literally. He he.

Today we made our first major purchase - a company van. We had to drive to Chilliwack (about 200 km away) to pick it up. Of course Roland drove home his new van and I drove our truck.


The weather was atrocious as usual in the Fraser Valley, but as soon as I hit the mountains it was decent. I love the drive across the Coquihalla, from Hope to Merritt. The last colours of the fall, coupled with Garth Brooks and me singing along full tilt - imagine that :)


I could not help but feel incredibly grateful.


Grateful for how this year has gone for us. Grateful for what lies ahead. Grateful that we found that van within one day, and it was just what we were looking for and within our budget. Grateful to be living here. Grateful for new friends we've made. Grateful for home schooling. Grateful that my husband put my "Best of Garth Brooks" on a USB stick to play in the car (that a car can do that still blows my mind). Grateful that I was alone in the car and nobody had to listen to me sing. Trust me, you would be grateful for that as well.


I'm excited for what lies ahead - and I would love to know: how has your month gone? Anything new and exciting? I want to know!