Experience2014 - November Round-Up

 

November was a big month in Auer house. While there may not have been a huge variety of new experiences, one new experience dominated the whole month: my husband started his own business (and I may have mentioned that on Facebook once or 44 times).

 

While we've been playing with the idea of his own business for a while, the final decision wasn't made until late October, and from then on it was hair straight back and go, go, go. And it hasn't stopped since.


How the whole "own business thing" came about and how that's all going for him is not my story to tell, but I can tell you how it's been for me and how I feel about it.


I understand wanting to be your own boss. That's why I decided to freelance, rather than keep working in a secure job with benefits. Being able to make more money is a perk for sure, but at the core, it's not what it's all about.


It's about being able to set your own schedule, to make your own decisions and to be accountable for them. It's about being able to align your values with your work ethics and fully identifying with how you do your job. It's about building a life that fulfills you and takes care of your family's needs.

 

As my husband embarks on his journey as entrepreneur I decided to re-evaluate my own. I love freelancing and will definitely keep doing just that, but I am thinking about shifting my focus a bit. So I'm taking December to think, write, read, learn, refocus and mostly stay off social media (Have you noticed that all the fucktards have been out in full force on social media lately? I've noticed, and I feel like I need a bit of a break from that).




Now I want to know - what's new and exciting with you this month? I'd love to read about it :)