Experience2014 December Round-Up - and some news

That's it. The year is over.

I can't really say "thank goodness it's over", because it's truly been a good year. The motto was experiences: trips to new places, new experiences in volunteering, new experiences in education, new experiences in starting new businesses...

Quite amazing, really. Rather than telling you all about it again, you can go and check it out in the experience archive - and I'll just give you the scoop on what happened in December...

 



I have taken short breaks from social media before, but this December I pretty much stayed off social media for the whole month. I still had to log in and look after my clients' accounts, but I was able to shut out all the asshats, who had been out in full force in November... (Thank you, Facebook Pages Manager for iPhone!)


It was definitely an experience, one that made me realize that I want to choose quality over quantity. Yes, online friendships are real - and we all know that! - but there is also lots of mind-numbing chatter out there, and I don't need that. I really want to focus on connecting with people I love and people who inspire me. So I went through my friend list and trimmed it down quite a bit - why be "friends" if you have that person tuned out anyway and never interact?



 

Another new experience was spending Christmas without my oldest. For the first time, he spent Christmas with his Dad and his family in Vegas (I know, right?!?). What can I say? Of course I missed him (occasionally), but I miss him when he's gone in the summer as well. Christmas time is no different for me, because there are 364 other days in the year, when "family" can happen just as well. Also - what I'm really looking forward to is the first Christmas without kids, so Roland and I can spend it in Hawaii...

 

What else? Oh, I almost forgot... It was a big month for our youngest (human) family member.... Since he's a teenager now, he decided that he wants to start dating (whaaaaaaa?) and it so happens that he had already found a girl he really likes when he told us about it...

At this point, I don't even know what to say - except that there better be no making out of any sort, and that there will probably be a blog post about it eventually :)

 

I KNOW, RIGHT?
I KNOW, RIGHT?

 

Aaaahhhh - one more thing. My husband took a picture of our Christmas dinner, and I didn't. My work here is done!


So, that was definitely enough excitement for me.

 

But before I go, I want to tell you about the word I picked for 2015.

 

2015 will be the year to celebrate!

 

  

Anyway - back to celebrating 2015. I have known my word for 2015 since July 15th, 2014. Really. That's when I wrote it down. I remember sitting at my desk, feeling overwhelmed and stressed about how my business was growing in leaps and bounds. I remember thinking, that if I make it through this year and find a way to balance "it all", then I will celebrate the shit out of the whole year 2015.

 

Short story - I made it and I will celebrate! Long story - coming in the next blog post :)

 

I hope you have a happy, healthy, successful, and kick-ass 2015, and I'd love to hear what's new with you and if you've picked your word yet!