I won't...

I took some time in December to think about my goals for 2015 - for my business and my life. It's hard to separate the two, really (and I am not even trying to). Finding my goals and writing them down was not easy (and I may or may not be entirely done), but it didn't take long to figure out what I don't want to do anymore.

Once I had my list of "I don't want to do this anymore" written down, I looked over it. Something bothered me. "I don't want to" just didn't seem like a commitment to me - so I changed it to "I won't", and it made all the difference. 


I won't...



I won't put myself last anymore. 

That has to be first on the list, right? It's time to go to places I want to see and do things I want to do. Buy something just for me, without buying something for everyone else first. Eat out at a place where I want to eat. See a movie I want to see. You get the point, right? My kids are working on it ;) 



 

I won't tackle projects I enjoy less, just to get them out of the way. I used to do this all the time. Out of my list of projects, I would pick the one I was not so excited about and do it just to get it done. No more! I work way more efficient and effective when I work on projects I love, and the motivation and satisfaction usually carries me through the less exciting things! 

 

I won't compromise and work for clients, who are not a good fit for me. Taking on a job, despite a nagging feeling that it could turn into a nightmare? Yes, I've done it. Not anymore! We all have a choice, always. And I have learned that it's ok to turn down a client. I don't have to say "yes" to every opportunity. 

 

I won't stop questioning authority. Lately, I've been feeling a bit complacent. Like I'm doing my part to contribute and volunteer. And sometimes, it just seems easier to say nothing during a discussion, even though it ruffles my feathers. Especially when it comes from a "person of authority". It's the most valuable thing I learned in college: Always question authority. I've made a point of teaching that to my kids and encourage them to respectfully do so, but I have failed to do it myself lately. 

 

I won't join any more social networks. I got all the social I need, and then some. Sure, ello is supposed to be advertising-free and "real" - whatever. I make a living coming up with ad content for my clients - and I don't mind the ads on social networks. I don't have to click, and often they are better than some of the mental diarrhea other people spew there.