Writing Prompts? No, Thanks!

What to write about, what to write about... All those ideas in my head, vividly playing like a movie even, yet when it comes to putting it down on paper (my blog, really)... nothing. Not a single thing. So I go and google writing prompts. I check a gazillion writing prompt pins on Pinterest. I ask my husband what to write about ("Whatever you want, babe" is a good answer to give to your wife when it comes to picking a place to vacation or buying a new computer - but not a good answer when she asks you what to write about. Just FYI). 

The truth is, I have never been able to write a blog post based on a writing prompt. Ever. Not that I can remember, anyway. I've been inspired to write my own version of a story after reading other blog posts or an interesting story on the news. But writing prompts? No. It's always the same crap, and it just does not feel real.


I think that's the biggest issue I have with writing prompts - they don't feel real. Maybe it's a sign that I'm not a good writer. Shouldn't a good writer be able to spin a story out of a prompt? Whatever. I write plenty of copy for my clients, and it's all based on prompts, more or less. I have to write about a certain industry or trend, research it, and make it sound interesting, so their customers will in turn click and comment and maybe even buy. But blogging? It's different. 

 


My blog is all me. Everything I write here is "me". However, something I've been struggling with for a while is whether I'm writing about the "right" stuff. It's a process and sometimes I feel like I'm getting lost in it. It's a fine line to walk, between writing something that reflects the way I do business and the way I do life. It's not always exciting and sometimes not even all that interesting - but you know what? I'm okay with that now.

My life is not all that interesting. I'm fine with it being exactly the way it is; it mostly revolves around work, children, husband, dog, and more work. Also around wondering how the Grimm will take it, now that he knows Juliette is a Hexenbiest. I'm also hoping that the series finale of The Mentalist next week will have a happy end, otherwise I will be really pissed. Exciting, eh? I know.

 

So I'll just keep on writing about what I know and what I learn. About what annoys me and what I love. About what I'm grateful for and how I try to make a difference. Hey, that's 6 writing prompts right there - you're welcome to use them if you want ;)