Thoughts about "looking professional"

I recently applied to attend the E-Series workshop of the Forum for Women Entrepreneurs BC.


A few days ago, I received an email that I was accepted, and right after the initial wave of joy came a small wave of nausea, because I realized that I won't be able to wear pyjamas there. Apparently this is frowned upon at The Vancouver Club, to quote their dress code: "Athletic attire, sweatshirts, warm-up suits, and cargo pants are not permitted, nor is apparel with advertising messages or slogans. Running shoes, hiking style boots, beach type sandals, boat and athletic footwear are not permitted. Denim/Jeans of any colour are not permitted." Even though not specifically stated, I think this also excludes pyjama pants.


My husband put it into his own charming words: "You're gonna have to do something about that wardrobe and hair situation."


I really thought that I can build my empire from home, in pyjama pants.


And maybe I could - but this workshop is just too good to pass on, and I really think it could take my business to new heights. They don't call it "the mini MBA for entrepreneurs" for nothing. 


So I went into my closet and had a look around. As it turns out, I actually have some halfway decent, non-pyjama clothes. Probably slightly outdated (although I prefer to think of them as "classic" and "timeless"), but they look professional (I think), and more importantly - they fit!


I'm going to have to dig a little deeper into that closet, because the workshop is three full days - but this is a start, right?

Behind those clothes are the real gems. You know, the pyjamas.
Behind those clothes are the real gems. You know, the pyjamas.

It's not that I don't know that my style can at best be described as "dumpy chic" - it's more that I don't care. I want to be comfortable, and I would much rather spend my money on office supplies, than on clothes or shoes.

 

*Damn. Shoes.  I didn't even think about the shoes yet. No flip-flops, hiking boots, or sneakers allowed either. That disqualifies pretty much every single pair of shoes I own. Hello, slightly bigger wave of nausea!*

 

There was never a time in my life, when I cared about clothes, much to the dismay of my mother. She would always give me a hard time for the way I dressed, while praising my sister's adorable style of wearing silky scarfs, tied into a bow. I always thought that was more suitable for a Yorkshire Terrier, but of course I know nothing about fashion. 

 

I also resent the fact that we are judged by our looks, which is probably why I love working from home so much. Nobody cares what I wear when I create successful content for their social media channels, or when I write copy for their websites that they - and their customers - really connect with.

 

Put a group of women, who want to succeed in business, together for a workshop, and there has to be a dress code (and just for the record - I don't leave the house in pyjama pants, I wear jeans and t-shirts)... Alas, it's the game I have to play if I want to go - and I really want to go, so I will play dress-up, and "business attire" and "smart casual attire" it is. Until I create my own empire and hold my own workshops in pyjama pants.