Interruption

 

My blog is a place where I come to hang out and socialize and relax - which is exactly why I usually stay away from opinion posts. Sure I have an opinion - on just about everything - and I also know that there are lots of other opinions out there. And while that's fine with me, I don't want my blog to be a place where people shame, judge or diss in any way. I think there should be way more respect and way less judgement in this world.

 

That being said, I have to interrupt my blissful Countdown to Freelance to give you a piece of my mind (but first my latest countdown picture: look, I even put lipstick on for you! See the whole album on my Facebook page).

 

Since the VMAs, a shitload of posts have been published about "it" and the consensus was pretty much that Miley Cyrus' performance was tasteless, inappropriate, slutty, bla bla bla. Whatever. This morning I came across Kristin's post over at Mondays with Mac - and now I just have to give you my two cents...

 

Let me start by saying this: I absolutely agree with Kristin. Sexism is alive and well in America and trying to shame that girl into continuing to be the Hannah Montana role model is bullshit (those are not her words, but my interpretation and also my opinion).

 

A 20-year-old girl jumped around half naked on stage and grabbed her crotch a few times and shook her booty - so what?!? It's not like the VMAs are a class act anyway and if you think it should be in the realm of Vivaldi's Four Seasons, then don't watch it. And if you think it's bad for your kids - don't let them watch it. It really is that easy. Why does everything have to be talked and judged to death?

 

What bugs me way more is that some people seem to think their kids are entitled to Miley being on good behaviour (what is that anyway?), because she is a role model. Wake up and smelll the coffee, people - Hannah Montana is long gone and Miley is growing up! Call it experimenting, call it artistic expression, call it whatever you want - the choices she makes are nobody's business but her own. 

 

Let me ask you this - how should the performance have been? One less grab to the crotch and it would have been OK? A different colour bikini and it would have been fine? No bending over in front of Robin Thicke and the role-model-status would have been saved?

Why am I even writing about this? Let's move on!

 

My oldest watched it and guess what - he knows that Hannah Montana is history. He didn't like the performance, but he likes the song. He didn't rush to practice twerking. Sometimes a performance is just a performance.

 

PJ says it's also way too much work to be looking like that every day...

 

Me? I'm way more worried about what the kids my kid hangs out with every day are up to. I'm also way more worried whether I am the best role model I can be for my kids. I can't rely on adolescent girls with developing dance skills to be a role model.

 

And that's all I have to say 'bout that.

 

Now back to the really important stuff - I have three working days left in my job and starting next week I'll be working for myself 100%! On my agenda for the first day: not worrying about what Miley Cyrus does next.