Third post this week, because I have a lot to say

 

In case you missed my first two posts - I already wrote about how to make a kick-ass German Apfelstrudel this week and I've shared some of my parenting secrets in Auer Parenting 101.

 

I don't really have anything substantial to say now, but I need to share some of the things that have been going on this week - I'm home by myself all day, mkay? And even though my dog is a good listener, he does not get quite as excited as I'd like him to.

 

So here we go:

On Sunday I had the opportunity to go to a movie screening. Last year a film team from Switzerland came and filmed a movie in Merritt and the Nicola Valley, using all local people from the Lower Nicola Indian Band. The only professional actor was a wolf - the wolf from Twilight actually - and he was apparently a real diva.

The movie is called "Shana - the Wolf's Music"; it is a coming-of-age story of a young First Nations girl who is struggling after losing her mother. She finds comfort with her spirit animal, a wolf, as well as her extraordinary gift of playing the violin. It was a pretty cool movie, well made and with a great soundtrack. I took my son to the screening with me and as it turns out he knows the girl who plays the main character, they used to be on the same soccer team (as it turned out I knew pretty much everyone in the movie, because we live in a really small town...). The world premiere of the movie will be in February in Zurich and it will come to North America after that.

Now comes the cool part: The producer of the movie and her husband, the director, stayed at my neighbor's bed&breakfast and she found out that they are looking for a writer and translator... The movie is in English right now, since that's what the locals speak, but the website is in German. So I met with the film crew yesterday morning and they asked me if I was interested in doing some translations for them... Hell, yeah!

 

They have a few really cool projects in the works - involving the movie - and there is a really good chance that I get to be a part in some of them. Yay for freelancing!

 

Another really cool thing I wanted to share with you is that we actually won something. We bought some dog food last weekend and they had a draw for a doghouse and we won! Pretty sweet. Of course it's an igloo, we live in Canada after all, eh! The dog is not quite sure what to think of it, but I hope he'll get used to it because it's definitely too small to be the proverbial dog house for my husband.

Last, but not least I just have to tell you about this soup I ate today for lunch. I found it at the grocery store yesterday and just knew I had to try it - and I love it! It's made right here in BC, super yummy and super fresh. Sigh, I know it's pathetic, but I'm really freakin' excited about this soup.

Other than the taste my favourite part about it is that my kids hate mushrooms, so I don't have to share.

 

How has your week been so far?