A Day In Auer Life

7 am, waking up in the morning, gotta get dressed gotta go downstairs....

 

Wait, that's that "Friday" song my oldest sings for me once a week because he wants to make sure I know that I live with a teenager.

 

I actually get up at 6 am every. damn. day (thank you, dog!) and go upstairs, because our bedroom is in the basement.

I take the dog outside for a couple of minutes and then head straight to my office for an hour of uninterrupted social media fix, I mean networking.

 

The kids get up around 7 (ish), get dressed and have some breakfast. There's not really much I have to do with a teenager and an almost-teenager-but-definitely-acting-like-one. We talk, play with the dog, make plans for dinner and usually after my husband disappears to go to work around 7:30, I take care of the only mom-chore I really have to do in the morning: make my son's lunch for school.

 

I know this already sounds incredibly exciting, right?

We live "downtown" (snort) in a small town, so we pretty much walk everywhere. That includes walking to school and since the dog also needs a walk, I trot along with the kids when they take off around 8.

 

Once I get back home it's time for more social media, I mean networking. Totally networking. Ahem. I've been working from home as a freelancer since September and networking is really important for that. Like totally.

 

By 10 am I usually manage to tear myself away from "networking" and start looking after my clients. The time after lunch - after another hour-long walk with the dog - is reserved for blogging, queries, reading and more client stuff.

 

But the excitement doesn't stop there!

 

There is more work, kids coming home from school, homework, walking the dog and family time. 

 

I'm sure you're asking yourself how I manage to handle all that excitement.

(You are still here, right?)

Let me tell you:

I love living in a small town. Of course I constantly complain about having no movie theatre, no Target and too much small town mentality, but I would not want to live anywhere else.

 

It's a different pace of life and it suits my family and me well.

 

Even though there is not much excitement in the days of Auer Life (shocking, I know - you didn't see that one coming), it's exactly what we need.

I've done sleepless nights, worked outside of the home full-time while being a mother and lived in big cities. Now is the time to slow things down and living in a small town is just another part of the puzzle.

 

So at the end of another typical day in Auer Life I can honestly say that I would not want to trade with anyone.

 

I want to know - what does your typical day look like?