42

 

I turned 42 a few days ago.

FORTYTWO.

Yeah.

As I'm starting my 43rd year (FORTYTHIRD) I feel that it's time to look back on my 42nd (FORTYSECOND) year and set a goal (one is enough, right?).

To me, a birthday is much more of a new beginning than an acutal new year (heck, even the beginning of school is more of a new beginning than a new year. I'm not a fan of making resolutions for New Year's - right after eating allthecookies and alltheturkey...)

My 42nd year was one of my better ones so far. I set out to live a more authentic life, my third book was published, I did a duckface-selfie project in Las Vegas and I quit my job to work as a freelancer. 

 

 

So far so good, but there is definitely a goal I have for my 43rd year. 

 

One of my worst qualities is agreeing to something and then bitching and whining about it constantly and making everyone feel like shit about it.

 

Like agreeing to get a dog and now constantly bitching about having to take care of him all day long because I'm the one working from home. He's a really good puppy and except for the occasional digging in the yard I can't complain. I even taught him to sit at the bottom of the stairs when he comes back inside, where he waits until I clean his paws (I know, right?).

I should be grateful to have him in our family. He's super cute and mellow and I've been getting a lot more fresh air and exercise since we've had him.

 

 

My goal for this year is to kick that habit. Make a decision and own it - be grateful/happy/accountable for it. It's something I preach all. the. time. and I need to say "suck it up, buttercup" to myself more often. Maybe part of it is that I am a recovering people pleaser, so I should add that I need to consider who I'm trying to please when making a decision and really ask myself if I'm prepared to live with the consequences.

 

As for Jacob (our dog), I am glad that he's part of our family and I am grateful that I get breaks from my work and sitting in front of my computer all day so we can go on walks (I may still complain when it's -20°C, but that's totally legit. Ahem).

 

Where are you in your personal journey? What are your goals?