Experience2014 - January Round-Up

 

Can you believe the first month of the new year is pretty much over? I have no idea how that happened, but I remember that I set out to make 2014 the year of new experiences.

 

And experience new things in January I did (I am an Experience-Jedi. And maybe a little bit of a Star Wars geek. What?). Here's what I did in January that I've never done before:

 

Let's start with something really mundane... I hand-washed my dog's hoodie. If anyone would have told me just about 6 months ago that I would ever own a dog I would have called them crazy. Yet here I am, buying hoodies for my dog and hand-washing them; I don't even hand-wash anything for my husband or kids - but how can you say NO to this face:

 

 

I also went to a duct tape vernissage. Yes, that's totally a thing. At least in Auer house. My son is a budding duct tape entrepreneur and he put on quite the show for us.

 

 

My husband and I went on two dates in January! First we had a Date Night, and then we had a great afternoon by the lake. We took the dog with us and went for a nice long walk, lost the dog because we foolishly left him off leash and thought he would listen to us when we call him... that was fun. We found the dog again and he wasn't sorry at all. Sheesh. The date was fabulous though, but the next time we're leaving the kids AND the dog at home.

 

 

Then there was my first wine tasting - girls' night out - last week. I know now what a Wayne Gretzky Rosé tastes like (fruity), a Chocolate Merlot (yummy) and a bunch of other wines. Yes, we drank allthewine.

 

My friend April and I at the wine tasting. No, I did NOT drink out of that jug. I would never do that... Also: I had no ideas my arms are a big as the Hulk's. Cool.
My friend April and I at the wine tasting. No, I did NOT drink out of that jug. I would never do that... Also: I had no ideas my arms are a big as the Hulk's. Cool.

 

Finally I got to experience something my husband has been begging me to do for 6 years... What? No, nothing to do with 50 Shades of Whatever. 

I said YES to buying a pick-up truck. And I actually drove it! And I backed into our driveway (thank you rear-driving-camera)! And I didn't put any dents into it (yet)!

 

 

That was enough excitement for one month. Next: onward and upward in the wonderful world of new experiences!

 

What have you been up to in January?