Experience2014 - February Round-Up

 

Is it really already the end of February? What happened? I guess time flies when you're busy making new experiences...

 

In February, the whole family embraced our resolution to experience new things in 2014. As a family, we started year #7 in Canada and we also did this:

 

photo credit: PJ (selfie, duh)
photo credit: PJ (selfie, duh)

 

PJ got his Learner's Permit and will start driving now. I am not ready for this. I am especially not ready for him to get more driving time with the new pick-up truck than me. My husband thinks he's a "natural" and I'm gonna have to step up my game and actually start driving the truck as well... (watch for my adventures with that in next month's round-up...).

 

 

Marius went ice fishing for the first time and brought home a rainbow trout - already smoked and in a jar. That's my boy! The dog also took a particular interest in him, because it seems that Marius rubbed that trout all over his clothes before he smoked it... 

In other (devastating) news, my anti-bullying superhero has decided I have to quit putting his school lunches into the SpongeBob lunchbox. My baby is growing up! Even though I am pretty sure it is my duty to use the SpongeBob lunchbox (as per the parenting bylaws, see section 4), I guess I need good pick-up truck karma, so alright then.

 

 

Roland quit smoking! I know, right? Just like that, after almost 30 years (yeah, we start young in Germany...). He used to smoke a whole carton (that's 10 packs!) a week and switched to nicotine spray and gum for a week or two and then quit entirely! Amazing, right?

 

To celebrate we went on a mega date - we took a whole day, went for a nice drive on the old highway to Kamloops, did some shopping and ended the day with a nice dinner (that's a total of 4 dates this year already - we're on a roll!).

 

 

As for little ol' me - I did some new stuff as well. Like fit into a size 12 pair of jeans. A few years ago (and up to about 3 months ago. Ahem. As seen on the right side of the picture...) I barely fit into a size 16. And now it's a size 12. I'm shooting for a size 8, people (but I won't be devastated if it ends up being a 10 either)!

I'm about three months into eating and living healthier and it's paying off! 10 miles per week on the elliptical and a healthy diet without starving, that's pretty much it.

 

What else? Oh, yes - I decided to go all 21st century with the billing system for my freelance business and just received my first payment via credit card. Cool, eh? 

 

I also have a big new experience in the works for March - and will you tell all about it in my March Round-Up.

 

Now I want to know: what's going on in your life?