Experience2014 - March Round-Up

 

The end of Spring Break is upon us and after two weeks of good intentions I wish I could add the Spring Break Experience to my lists of "firsts" this year. As in "wow, this was the first Spring Break ever when the maternal instinct to keep those kids alive was not what kept me hanging on by a thread" - but alas, I am hanging on by a thread as I write this, no nothing new to report here.

 

It's actually not even the end of March yet, and while I'm convinced I will make it to the 31st and thus to the first day of school being back in session, I have something really cool in the works for that day - so my monthly round-up is happening today. 

 

Despite hanging on by a thread in the parenting department and also being buried in freelance work, I was determined to experience new things in March - and I did.

 

I had vowed last month to start driving the new truck more. And thanks to Tim Hortons and their new Pretzel Bagels, I did. I drove there a whole lot for some of this goodness:

 

 

And I am only a tiny bit embarrassed to admit that I only parked in the Tim Hortons parking lot when the spot right in front of the door was available, so I could pull straight in and straight back out. Most of the time I parked a little further away... What?

 

 

I also want to add that I back that bitch into our driveway like a boss (thank you, rear-view-driving-camera!).

 

 

Even though I consider my driving escapades quite the accomplishment, I do have one other thing that I'm very proud of: 

 

I became a member of Rotary International. That's right, I am now a Rotarian.

 

I've been wanting to get involved with a charity for a while and when one of my clients - a fellow Rotarian - invited me to a meeting I jumped at the chance and was hooked.

 

It's a great group of people, dedicated to making a difference in Merritt and beyond and I look forward to the lunch meetings every week (and not just because the meetings are at the fabulous Brambles Bakery. Ahem).

 

What I like most about Rotary is that all administration costs are paid for with the interest they collect off members' voluntary donations, so none of the funds raised to benefit the programs are diminished by administration costs. 

 

So - that's my round-up for March. There will be some family adventures next month, in places we have not been before - so I'm pretty excited about that.

 

Now I want to know: what have you been up to?