My Writing Process

I am a writer.

 

That's what I say when someone asks what I do for a living. 

 

And it's funny - because the "online reaction" is quite different from the reaction I get in real life. I think it's important for anyone to surround herself with supportive people, people who have your back. It seems that's easier online - for me anyway. When I introduce myself as a writer in real life, I almost always get an "Oh" and an awkward silence. Then I get a sympathetic look and once I add "and a business consultant", finally a sigh of relief. 

 

My online community is what carries me and keeps me going - and one very important member of that community is Alison at Writing, Wishing. Needless to say, I was thrilled when she invited me to participate in a Blog Author Tour about my writing process! Alison wrote about her process last week and her blog is one of my favourite places to go on the internet.

 

This is my writing process:

 

 

1. What am I working on?

 

I'm about halfway through revisions for the second edition of a travel guide I wrote, and I'm also working on the webcopy for a new client. At any given time, I'm researching and writing several client blogs and I just started work on an e-book I want to offer on my website later this year.

 

2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?

 

Don't we all like to think we have a unique style and that we're different? I definitely like reading in my comments that my readers feel I'm honest, supportive and real. That's what I strive to be. I want this blog to be an inviting place, a place where people feel comfortable and I hope to convey that through my writing. I know I'm far from grammatically perfect, but I strive for solid writing that connects.

As far as my writing for clients and freelance markets goes, I think I have a knack for explaining things and telling my clients' stories in a way that people can relate to it. 

 

3. Why do I write what I do?

 

I write this blog because I want to connect with people. I want to share the ups and downs and sideways moves of life and I want to change and grow - together with my online community. 

I write for my clients because I want them to be successful. Yes, I do get paid for that - and I don't have a problem taking money for it. There is a difference between doing something just for the money and doing something you're passionate about and getting paid because you add real value. It brings me great joy to see my clients succeed.

 

4. How does my writing process work?

 

Short version: with lots of research, editorial calendars and lists.

 

Long version: It depends on what I'm working on.

 

For this blog (and for story ideas I pitch to freelance markets), I keep a file with ideas in Evernote (I LOVE Evernote), each idea has a few sentences/bullet points as well as pictures attached to it. I regularly review and revise those ideas (there's usually some "breaking news" after we all sat down and had dinner together or after my husband shares what he learned from Maury Povic or Yukon Men) until I have the whole structure of the blog post (or article idea) set, then it's ripe for the pickin', I mean publishin' - or pitchin'. 

 

For my clients' blogs, I create an editorial calendar at the beginning of the month and plan posts around special sales, holidays etc. I also plan posts that add value for their customers. Once the editorial calendar is set, I research and write. I don't just write and publish - there is definitely some revising and editing going on to get the best results.

 

Writing webcopy has its own unique process and it's one of my favourite writing tasks. I love getting to know the story behind my clients' businesses and finding out what they are all about. Most of the information for client websites comes from the clients and involves real-life or virtual meetings, so there is not that much research involved. I sometimes research the industry I'm dealing with anyway, to get a better understanding of how I can tell my clients' stories and what their customers might be looking for. Webcopy usually involves several rounds of revisions and I don't consider that a pain in the ass - I love seeing a project evolve and grow.

 

For any new editions of my books, it's mostly research and fact checking - and while it is rather dry (and surprisingly exhausting), it does provide a change in the daily routine and that's always good. Of course it helps that my publisher has a fantastic editor, that makes any writer's life so much easier!

 

Finally:

 

I carry a small notebook with me - at all times - and write down random notes for blog post ideas, freelance article ideas etc. One day I thought of a pseudonym I would want to use, should I ever decide to write an erotic novel. That's one of the gems in that little notebook :)

 

My trusted notebook and my favourite Waterman pen
My trusted notebook and my favourite Waterman pen

Next week - on April 7th - the Blog Author Tour features two fantastic writers: Heidi Cave at Fancy Feet and Tamara Bowman at Tamara Like Camera

 

Tamara is my newest blog discovery and while I can't explain why it took me so long to find her, I fell fast and hard for her writing and photography - and so will you. Her writing is as gorgeous as she is herself, with a perfect mixture of vulnerability and humour. And the pictures. Oh my, the pictures. You just have to see the pictures! What sealed the deal for me is when she recently became a mama again - of a little rescue dog, just like I did 8 months ago - and she knows what it's like to want to go on doggy maternity leave.  

 

I have loved Heidi's blog ever since I came across it over three years ago (that's like 30 years in internet time). Her writing is beautiful and her words touching. She is the author of Fancy Feet, the memoir of her decision to be a survivor - not a victim - after an accident caused by a reckless driver left her fighting for her life. Not only do I love visiting her blog to read sweet stories like this one, I also had the chance to meet Heidi in real life, at one of her book signings last year - and we're determined to have another brunch date this year!

 

I hope you'll visit those two amazing writers next week!

 

Now tell me: What's your writing process?