Nothing

A few weeks ago I came across an article on LinkedIn. I don't even know how I found it, since I'm not on LinkedIn and refuse to sign up for yet another Social Network - yet I saw the link somewhere and clicked on it because I didn't even know that LinkedIn has a publishing platform and I was curious. 

 

(Wow. That was probably the worst introductory sentence to a blog I've ever written, but my head has been so full of client projects, unruly children and whatnot that I can't even get myself to change it because it respesents my current state of mind rather accurately - a little bit too long-winded and slightly confused. I'm glad I already established that I'm a writer in my post earlier this week.)

 

 

Anyway - you know when you read something that makes so much sense and you start questioning the way you've done things so far and you really feel this could be life-changing? The article was a little bit like that. 

 

It was about doing nothing.

 

About not reacting in the heat of the moment, about just sitting back when you're angry, paranoid or tired. 

 

While I've definitely made some progress with this over the years, I still have a long way to go - but I'm determined. Doing nothing is better for me. Better for my blood pressure, better for my overall mental health. I get pretty passionate about my job, my community and my family - and sometimes I just need to reign it in. I need to remind myself that I don't need to be everything to everyone.

 

So I'm making it a habit to take my time. To sit back and do nothing.

 

When I'm pissed off I won't react. When I'm angry I will walk away. When I'm worried I will remember that this too, shall pass. When I'm tired I will rest.

 

I'm craving a simple life and doing nothing is a big step towards that.

 

Now I want to know: Do you ever do nothing?