Over It / Loving It 2.0


Last year I wrote down a few things that I'm over and a few that I'm loving. Reading through that old post again made me realize that things have changed - and it's time to write another post; maybe I'll even make this a yearly thing!


You probably can't wait to find out what's on my list, so here we go:


Over It

Last year, sucking in my stomach, finishing a book that's a terrible read and not taking my time were on the list. I'm keeping those on the list, but I've added to it. I'm also over ...

 

... intolerant, disrespectful and judgmental people. I have no room in my life for negativity. Sure, I think there is a wrong way and a right way to do things - but I would never dream of telling anyone they have to do it my way and then be an ass about it if they don't. 

 

... Facebook challenges. Seriously. Jumping into cold rivers, ice bucket challenge and whatever else they come up with. Whether it's for charity or not - I don't participate and I'm totally over it (can you be over something before you even do it? Because I have never done a Facebook challenge and I'm still over it). I think that half the people participating don't even know what they are doing it for and what the cause behind it is. I have no desire to be peer pressured into anything. Ever. Sure, social media raises awareness, does good things as well, bla bla bla... still over it!

 

... making a big deal out of everything. Where do I even begin with this one? It's not mandatory or necessary to make a big deal out of things. Stuff happens and people move on. Yes, things are outrageous and people still move on. No need to get worked up about a snide comment or someone else pissing in your cornflakes because they had a bad day. Or because Bath & Body Work was out of Winter Apple candles... I could easily get worked up, because Royale Velour toilet paper doesn't actually feel like you're wiping your ass with velvet - EVEN THOUGH THE COMMERCIAL SUGGESTS THAT! Sheesh. Aaaaand - moving on. 

 

First iPhone selfie evah!
First iPhone selfie evah!
First date in a loooooong time!
First date in a loooooong time!
Freelance, baby!
Freelance, baby!

Loving It

Last year, my Auer Life Facebook page, my BlackBerry PlayBook, having a PVR and summer made the list and I've definitely moved on from most of that. Which brings me to the first thing I'm loving. I'm loving ...

 

... the fact that I have moved on from BlackBerry to Apple. I sold the PlayBook, got rid of my BB Torch and got myself an iPhone. Totally loving it. Not even kidding. I know, so shallow - but my iPhone makes me happy. It never argues with me, it's really smart and very reliable. What more could a girl want? Oh wait, there is something...

 

... going on dates with my husband. We've had countless dates this year and even went camping one weekend - alone. Not that I didn't love date nights before, but now we are actually having dates! Of course I have loved my kids all along also, but even more now that they are teenagers and independent. I know, right?

 

... having my own business. I may have mentioned that once for 47 times. Freelancing rocks and I'm pretty sure I will still be loving it next year. 

 

... anything rose-scented. Like Scentsy Simply Rose. Or rose-scented body lotion. Or rose-scented candles. Or roses. I guess they smell like that as well.... 


... Keely Flynn's book "Expecting - a Year of Fixing up and Breaking Down". I love Keely's blog and her writing and this book. Seriously. You need to click on the book link and read the little blurp about it and you will want to own it. Really.

 

Looking back, I find it very interesting that I'm still over everything I was over last year and just added to the list and that I'm loving completely different things this year. Not that I have an explanation for it, just bringing it up - you know, making conversation ;)


I think that about covers it. So - what about you? What are you over/loving at the moment? I'd love to hear about it!