My Writing Process 2.0

One year ago, I wrote about my writing process, as part of a Blog Author Tour. I think it would be interesting to answer the same questions again, and see what has changed over the past year. Interesting for me, at least ;)


When I read through my post from last year, I noticed that one thing has changed for sure. The new connections I made during the past year have been mostly real life connections - as opposed to online connections. I feel like I'm getting the best of both worlds right now. Maybe this is due to my business being a year older, and me having worked with a lot more clients. Maybe it's also the fact that I feel like "being a writer" is something my real life connections accept.


One thing has stayed the same since last year: I believe it's important to surround yourself with people, who have your back, whether it's online or in real life. If you can do both - even better!


1. What am I working on?


My workload has definitely increased from last year. I am working on an e-book, a workshop, web copy for two clients, ad copy for several clients, and social media content for seven clients. 

I know that many people think managing social media profiles for a client has nothing to do with being a writer, but I disagree. I think that creating content and always staying within the client's corporate voice if definitely a job for a writer, and it does make a difference.


2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?


I can definitely still sign off on what I wrote last year, here it is:


Don't we all like to think we have a unique style and that we're different? I definitely like reading in my comments that my readers feel I'm honest, supportive and real. That's what I strive to be. I want this blog to be an inviting place, a place where people feel comfortable and I hope to convey that through my writing. I know I'm far from grammatically perfect, but I strive for solid writing that connects.

As far as my writing for clients and freelance markets goes, I think I have a knack for explaining things and telling my clients' stories in a way that people can relate to it. 

 

3. Why do I write what I do?

 

The focus of my blog has certainly shifted since last year. I don't write only to share my life and its ups and downs anymore; while I still write to connect with people, I am mostly looking for connections where we can learn from each other. My blog is still a welcoming place and I want people to feel comfortable here, but the focus has shifted to learning and business. I'm still finding my way with this new focus, because I want it to feel real and still make sure it reflects who I am and what's important to me.

 

4. How does my writing process work?


More than ever, I need to organize myself with editorial calendars, lists, and deadlines. I mostly set my personal deadlines before the actual deadlines, that way I always have a bit of a leeway.

 

Just this weekend, I had two projects on my calendar, when I got a last minute request from a client. I postponed one of the other projects and got it done, without having to panic about the project I postponed - because the actual deadline is not until Thursday (ok, maybe I'm panicking a little bit).

 

I've definitely learned in the past year, that I work better under pressure. I also work better at night. Don't ask me why, but I think that I just like being able to do whatever I want during the day - whether it is spending time with my kids (yay homeschooling!), going to my favourite bakery for a coffee (ok, and for a scone), or watching an episode of House of Cards. I still work during the day, but I don't beat myself up if I don't meet my quota by 5 pm. I feel more at ease at night, after we've had dinner together and everyone is doing their own thing - I don't feel bad for sitting in my office until late at night, working. 

 

An important thing I have also learned, is that the writing process does not only happen on paper/on the computer. It happens in my head first. I used to beat myself up for not sitting down and writing on a project. Now I know that a lot of the work needs to happen in my head first. I take the dog for a walk and think about the project, I do the dishes and think about the project, I go to the post office and think about the project. With all the thinking, I start spinning a story in my head (and in my trusted notebook, which I carry with me) - and then it comes together naturally on paper. Realizing that, and going with the flow, has been a huge deal for me. And it has changed my process for the better.

 

Alright - that's it for this year's writing process. Maybe I'll make this a yearly thing (I definitely will, if I don't know what to write about a year from now and think. "Hey, let me look back at what I blogged about a year ago and write a follow-up post" <--- that may or may not have happened tonight. Ahem).